39 NAVAL MESSAGES TO CANADIAN MERCHANT SHIPS INCLUDING SMALL CRAFT AND FISHING VESSELS


1  IT IS IMPORTANT THAT MASTERS ENSURE THAT THIS NOTICE IS AVAILABLE TO AND UNDERSTOOD BY THEIR RADIO OFFICERS AND OTHER MEMBERS OF THE CREW RESPONSIBLE FOR OPERATING SHIP'S RADIO EQUIPMENT.

2  Canada subscribes to the Commonwealth GBMS organization by which NAVAL MESSAGES are passed to Commonwealth Merchant Ships.

3  The procedures for passing NAVAL MESSAGES to Canadian and Commonwealth ships in Canadian areas are described hereunder. Such messages will be important and may be vital to your ship's safety and welfare.

Ships fitted with Radiotelegraph Equipment (Ocean Shipping) will comply with the procedure outlined for the GBMS Organization in Admiralty Annual Notice to Mariners No. 3A. THIS PROCEDURE WILL BE BROUGHT INTO FORCE BY CANADIAN MESSAGE A.

II Other vessels, primarily those fitted with Radiotelephone Equipment (Coastal Shipping) will be informed of the commencement of emergency procedures by a special message from National Defence Headquarters. This will be on the normal working frequency of each MCTS Centre making scheduled weather broadcasts and repeated at intervals until sufficiently promulgated. Such broadcasts will be preceded by a general call to all stations on the calling frequency. The following points concerning transmissions after emergency procedures have been brought into force are to be noted and observed:

(a) Ships are to continue to receive messages from MCTS Centres serving the waters in which they are operating.

(b) Naval messages will be broadcasted immediately following scheduled weather broadcasts.

(c) The text of each naval message will indicate the Naval Authority which has originated it and will contain if necessary, details of the locality to which it refers. The last group in the text will consist of a six figure date-time group to indicate the date and time the message was originated.

Example:

All Canadian Merchant Ships, this is St. John's Coast Guard Radio. Here is a message from National Defence Headquarters (or Maritime Command Headquarters, or Maritime Headquarters Pacific) begins ... (text). I say again... (repetition of text) ends. This is St. John's Coast Guard Radio. OUT.

(d) Messages are not to be acknowledged unless ships are specifically directed in the text to make acknowledgement.

(e) Ships are to maintain radio silence EXCEPT to transmit:

(i) reports of distress or enemy activity;

(ii) essential commercial traffic which is ship's business. In certain circumstances restrictions will be imposed on this traffic. Information and instructions for this will be given in a naval message. No private or personal messages will be permitted in any circumstances.

4  Tests of these procedures may be conducted from time to time in conjunction with Naval Exercises. The texts of test messages will always begin and end with the words, This is a test message. Masters of ships receiving a test message are required to forward brief reports by mail through their owners to National Defence Headquarters, Ottawa, Canada, stating the time and the approximate position at which the message was received.

5  Radio Officers and others concerned should note that in peace time Canadian Naval Messages and Admiralty Messages will be transmitted through Canadian Coast Guard Marine Communications and Traffic Services Centres only.

Authority: Department of National Defence (NDHQ)

39Messages navals aux navires marchands canadiens y compris les petits bateaux et les bateaux de pêche

1IL IMPORTE QUE LES CAPITAINES S'ASSURENT QUE LEURS OFFICIERS RADIO ET (OU) LES MEMBRES D'ÉQUIPAGE RESPONSABLES DE L'EXPLOITATION DES APPAREILS RADIO REÇOIVENT ET COMPRENNENT LE PRÉSENT AVIS.

2Le Canada souscrit à l'organisation GBMS. Cette organisation assure la transmission des messages des autorités navales aux navires marchands du Commonwealth.

3Les procédures pour la transmission des messages navals aux navires canadiens et à ceux du Commonwealth évoluant dans les zones canadiennes sont décrites ci-après. Ces messages seront d'une importance vitale pour la sécurité et la protection de votre navire.

I.Lesnavires océaniques munis d'appareils radiotélégraphiques se conformeront avec la procédure GBMS décrite dans l'Avis aux navigateurs annuel N° 3A de l'Amirauté. CETTE PROCÉDURE SERA MISE EN VIGUEUR PAR LE MESSAGE CANADIEN A.

II.Les autres navires, principalement ceux munis d'appareils radiotéléphoniques (Caboteurs) seront informés de l'entrée en vigueur des procédures d'urgence par un message spécial du Quartier général de la Défense nationale, diffusé sur la fréquence normale de travail de chaque centre SCTM, faisant à heures fixes des émissions sur le temps, et répété par intervalles jusqu'à ce qu'il soit suffisamment répandu. Ces émissions seront précédées d'un appel général à toutes les stations sur la fréquence d'appel. Lorsque l'ordre sera donné de mettre en vigueur les procédures décrites ici, les points suivants devront être notés et observés:

a)les navires continueront de recevoir des messages des centres SCTM de la Garde côtière desservant les eaux dans lesquelles ils naviguent;

b)les messages navals seront diffusés immédiatement après les émissions de bulletins météorologiques réguliers;

c)le texte de chaque message naval indiquera l'autorité navale d'où il émane et contiendra, si nécessaire, des détails sur la localité à laquelle il se rapporte. Le dernier renseignement dans le texte sera un groupe de six chiffres indiquant la date et l'heure de l'envoi du message.

Exemple:

À tous les navires marchands canadiens, ici Saint-John's radio Garde côtière. Voici un message du Quartier général de la Défense nationale (ou du Quartier général du Commandement maritime, ou du Quartier général maritime, Pacifique). Début du message ---- texte ----. Je répète ---- (répétition du texte). Fin du message. Ici Saint-John's radio Garde côtière. TERMINÉ

d)Les navires n'accuseront pas réception des messages à moins que le texte des messages ne leur indique expressément de le faire;

e)les navires devront garder le silence EXCEPTÉ pour :

(i)signaler les cas de détresse et l'activité de tout ennemi;

(ii)transmettre le trafic commercial essentiel, c.-à-d. les affaires du navire. Selon certaines circonstances, la transmission du trafic commercial essentiel pourra faire l'objet de restrictions. Des renseignements et des instructions ayant trait à ces restrictions feront l'objet d'un message et seront diffusés par les stations côtières. Les messages privés ou personnels seront interdits.


4Ces procédures peuvent être mises à l'essai de temps à autre lors d'exercices navals. Demande est faite aux capitaines des navires qui reçoivent des messages d'essai de faire parvenir par la poste, par l'entremise des propriétaires des navires, au Quartier général de la Défense nationale, Ottawa, Canada, de brefs rapports indiquant la date et l'heure ainsi que leur position approximative au moment de la réception du message. Le texte des messages d'essai commencera et se terminera toujours par l'expression: Ceci est un message d'essai.

5Prière est faite aux officiers radio et autres personnes intéressées, de noter qu'en temps de paix, les messages navals canadiens et de l'Amirauté sont seulement transmis par les centres de Services de communications et de trafic maritime de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Autorité : Ministère de la Défense nationale (QGDN)