ATL 121 — LABRADOR, HAMILTON INLET TO CAPE CHIDLEY (INCLUDING BUTTON ISLANDS AND GRAY STRAIT), FIRST EDITION, 2004


Chapter 2 — Paragraph 186

Delete: (55°58′N, 60°06′W)
Replace by: (55°59.6′N, 60°01′W)

(N2017-01.5)
(Monthly Edition No. 2/17)


Chapter 5 — After paragraph 1

Insert : 1.1     The Torngat Mountains National Park extends from Saglek Fiord in the south, including all the islands and islets, to the northern tip of Labrador. From west to east, it extends from the provincial boundary with Quebec to the Labrador Sea. It can be accessed by air and water only during the summer. Aircraft landings in fresh water in the park are strictly prohibited, special permits may be acquired from Parks Canada for helicopter landings. Additional information can be obtained at http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/nl/torngats/index.aspx.

1.2    Access to or across Labrador Inuit Lands requires the consent of the Nunatsiavut Government. There is an approximately 9 km2 section located on the Labrador coast at Iron Strand that is not part of the park. Before entering this area, visitors are required to obtain permission by contacting a representative of the Nunatsiavut Government at 709 922-2942.

1.3    A permit is required to enter the park. It can be obtained by contacting Parks Canada, Torngat Mountains National Park, Box 471, Nain, Newfoundland and Labrador, A0P 1L0. Contact can also be made by telephone at 1-888-922-1290 (toll free), 709-922-1290 (English), 709-458-2417 (French), 709-922-1294 (fax) or by e-mail at torngats.info@pc.gc.ca.

1.4    Dangerous wildlife such as polar bears, black bears, wolves, and foxes may be encountered within the national park and the limits of this publication; caution is advised (see Appendix). Firearms are prohibited within the Torngat Mountains National Park. Approved deterrents or the service of Inuit Guides can be arranged by contacting the Torngat Mountains National Park staff.

1.5    The Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station is located at the head of St. John’s Harbour in Saglek Fiord. It operates annually in July and August. This facility which is operated by the Nunatsiavut Group of Companies, NGC Solutions has a floating wharf for use by small boats. Medical personnel are available. Transportation is provided by a helicopter stationed onsite and marine transportation can be provided while the base camp is operational. Diesel fuel and gasoline are available for purchase in limited quantities. Accommodations, meals, showers and communication by satellite phone are available. Park registration, orientation, logistics and planning support are available with park staff onsite. The base camp can also provide the service of local bear guards and guides. Additional information can be obtained by contacting NGC Solutions by telephone at 709-896-8505 (Happy Valley-Goose Bay), 403-799-7137 Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station or by e-mail at basecamp@ngc-ng.ca .

(N2017-04.9)
(Monthly Edition No. 5/17)

Chapter 5 — Paragraph 56, last line

Add: The Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station is located at the head of St. John’s Harbour. (See information at the beginning of this chapter.)

(N2017-05.0)
(Monthly Edition No. 5/17)

ATL 121 — LABRADOR, HAMILTON INLET À CAPE CHIDLEY (Y COMPRIS BUTTON ISLANDS ET GRAY STRAIT), DEUXIÈME ÉDITION, 2016


Chapitre 2 — Paragraphe 186

Supprimer : (55°58′N, 60°06′W)
Remplacer par : (55°59,6′N, 60°01′W)

(N2017-01.5)
(Édition mensuelle n° 2/17)


Chapitre 5 — Aprѐs le paragraphe 1

Insérer : 1.1     Le parc national des Monts-Torngat s’étend de Saglek Fiord, au Sud, y compris l’ensemble de ses îles et îlots, jusqu’à l’extrémité Nord du Labrador. D’Ouest en Est, le parc s’étend depuis la frontiѐre provinciale avec le Québec jusqu’aux eaux de la mer du Labrador. Le parc n’est accessible que par avion ou par bateau pendant l’été. Les amerrissages d’aéronefs en eau douce dans le parc sont strictement interdits; Parcs Canada peut accorder des permis spéciaux pour les atterrissages en hélicoptѐre. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site Web suivant : http://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/pn-np/nl/torngats/index.

1.2    L’accѐs aux terres ou à la circulation dans les terres des Inuits du Labrador requiert le consentement du Gouvernement du Nunatsiavut. Le littoral de Iron Strand, situé sur la côte du Labrador et d’une superficie de quelque 9 km2, est un territoire qui ne fait pas partie du parc. Les visiteurs qui désirent entrer sur ce territoire doivent obtenir la permission au préalable en communiquant avec un représentant du Gouvernement du Nunatsiavut au 709 922-2942.

1.3    Il faut détenir un permis pour entrer dans le parc. Vous pouvez obtenir un permis en communiquant avec le parc national des Monts-Torngat, Parcs Canada, case postale 471, Nain (Terre-Neuve-et- Labrador), A0P 1L0. Vous pouvez communiquer par téléphone aux numéros suivants : 1 888 922-1290 (service offert gratuitement), 709 922-1290 (service en anglais) ou au 709 458-2417 (service en français), par télécopieur au 709 922-1294 ou par courriel à : torngats.info@pc.gc.ca.

1.4    À l’intérieur des limites du parc national, ainsi que des limites couvertes par cette publication, on peut rencontrer des animaux sauvages tels que des ours polaires, des ours noirs, des loups, des renards, tous extrêmement dangereux; la prudence s’impose (voir l’annexe). Les armes à feu sont interdites dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat. Pour toute disposition relative au port de dispositifs de dissuasion approuvés ou si vous souhaitez faire appel aux services d’un guide inuit, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel du parc national des Monts-Torngat.

1.5    Le camp de base et la station de recherche des Monts-Torngat sont situés au fond de St. John’s Harbour, dans Saglek Fiord. Les installations sont ouvertes en juillet et août et sont exploitées par le consortium Nunatsiavut Group of Companies, NGC Solutions. On y trouve un ponton qui est utilisé par les embarcations. Un personnel médical y est présent. Le transport par hélicoptѐre (situé au camp de base) ou le transport maritime peuvent être offerts durant la période d’exploitation du camp de base. On peut se procurer du diesel et de l’essence en quantités limitées. Les services suivants y sont offerts : hébergement, préparation de repas, douches et communication au moyen de téléphone satellitaire. Le personnel du parc sur place s’occupe, en outre, de l’inscription des visiteurs dans le parc, de fournir une orientation générale portant sur les conditions particuliѐres du parc, et d’offrir un soutien logistique et de préparation au voyage. Au camp de base, il est aussi possible d’avoir recours aux services de surveillants d’ours inuits ou de guides de la région. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec NGC Solutions par téléphone au 709 896-8505 (Happy Valley-Goose Bay), ou au 403 799-7137 au camp de base et à la station de recherche des Monts-Torngat ou par courriel à : basecamp@ngc-ng.ca .

(N2017-04.9)
(Édition mensuelle n° 5/17)

Chapitre 5 — Paragraphe 56, derniѐre ligne

Ajouter : Le camp de base et la station de recherche des Monts-Torngat sont situés au fond de St. John’s Harbour. (Voir les renseignements au début du chapitre.)

(N2017-05.0)
(Édition mensuelle n° 5/17)