45 HORIZONTAL DATUM OF CHARTS


The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) produces nautical charts referenced to various horizontal datum's, such as North American Datum 1983 (NAD83), North American Datum 1927 (NAD27), Local Astronomic Datum's and others. The exact placement of lines of latitude and longitude on a nautical chart is dependent on the horizontal reference datum.

Through the use of satellites and other modern surveying techniques, it is now possible to establish global reference systems. As a result, NAD83, which for charting purposes is equivalent to the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS84), was chosen to replace the various datum's used in the past. While charted features will not move relative to adjacent features when horizontal reference datum's change, the latitude and longitude of each feature will change.

Most CHS charts that have been printed after 1986 have a note indicating the horizontal datum upon which the chart is based. The note also contains sufficient information to inform the mariner if any correction must be made to the latitude and longitude when transferring geographic positions from NAD83 (WGS84) to the horizontal datum of the chart.

Mariners are cautioned that direct readout navigation systems provide latitude and longitude referenced to a specific horizontal datum.

When satellite navigation systems (e.g. GPS) are referenced to NAD83 (WGS84), positions obtained from these systems can be plotted directly on CHS charts that are published on NAD83.

Positions obtained from Loran-C co-ordinate converters that are referenced to NAD83 (WGS84) must be corrected for overland propagation (ASF correction) before the positions can be accurately plotted directly on CHS charts that are published on NAD83.

A navigation receiver referenced to NAD83 will produce a position that must be adjusted by the average shift value published on the chart before it can be accurately plotted on a chart that is referenced to NAD27 or another horizontal datum. This is the most accurate method for plotting positions computed on NAD83 (WGS84) onto a chart that is referenced to NAD27 or to another horizontal datum. This procedure will produce more accurate results than using the positions obtained directly from satellite navigation systems where the mariner has selected NAD27 as the horizontal reference datum. The reason is that the satellite navigation system calculates the geographic position using NAD83, then transforms the position to NAD27. Differences in the accuracies of the transformation processes used in different navigation systems can result in significant differences in geographic positions.

If mariners coming from overseas ports set a horizontal reference datum other than NAD83, WGS84 or NAD27 on their navigation systems, then serious errors in position could occur.

Serious errors could also occur if latitude and longitude values obtained from LORAN-C coordinate converters are not adjusted for overland propagation (ASF correction).

Authority: Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS)

45Système géodésique des cartes marines

Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) produit des cartes marines basées sur divers systèmes géodésiques, tels que le Système de référence géodésique de l'Amérique du Nord 1983 (NAD83), le Système de référence géodésique de l'Amérique du Nord 1927 (NAD27), de systèmes de référence géodésiques astronomiques locaux et d'autres. La disposition exacte du carroyage sur une carte marine dépend du système géodésique utilisé.

En raison de satellites ainsi que d'autres techniques modernes d'arpentage, il est maintenant possible d'établir des systèmes de référence globaux. Conséquemment, le NAD83, qui, aux fins de la cartographie est équivalent au Système géodésique mondial 1984 (WGS84), a été choisi pour remplacer les différents anciens systèmes. Quoiqu'un changement de système géodésique ne changera pas le rapport entre les entités cartographiées, la latitude et la longitude de chaque entité changeront.

En général, les cartes du SHC imprimées après 1986 portent une note précisant le système géodésique sur lequel la carte est basée. Les renseignements que renferment cette note permettent aux navigateurs de déterminer si une correction en latitude et en longitude doit être effectuée en convertissant les positions géographiques du NAD83 (WGS84) au système géodésique de la carte.

Les navigateurs doivent être conscients que la latitude et la longitude sur les systèmes de navigation à lecture directe sont basées sur un système géodésique spécifique.

Lorsque les systèmes de navigation par satellite (ex. GPS) sont rapportés au NAD83 (WGS84), les positions obtenues de tels systèmes peuvent être portées directement sur les cartes du SHC qui sont basées sur le NAD83.

Un récepteur dont le système géodésique sélectionné est le NAD 83 fournira une position qui doit être corrigée par la valeur moyenne du déplacement indiquée sur la carte avant de pouvoir la reporter avec précision sur une carte basée sur le NAD27 ou sur un autre système géodésique. C'est la méthode la plus précise de reporter des positions établies à partir du NAD83 (WGS84) sur une carte basée sur le NAD27 ou un autre système géodésique. Cette procédure fournira des positions plus précises que celles obtenues directement des systèmes de navigation par satellite lorsque le navigateur a choisi le NAD27 comme système géodésique. La raison étant que le système de navigation par satellite calcule la position géographique en utilisant le NAD83 pour ensuite convertir les coordonnées au NAD27. Les différents degrés de précision compris dans les opérations de transformation qu'utilisent les divers systèmes de navigation peuvent donner d'importantes différences dans les positions géographiques.

D'importantes erreurs de positionnement peuvent se produire lorsque les navigateurs d'outre-mer règlent leurs systèmes de navigation sur un système géodésique autre que le NAD83, WGS84 ou NAD27.

Autorité : Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC)