38 CAUTION WITH REGARD TO SHIPS APPROACHING FORMATIONS, CONVOYS, AIRCRAFT CARRIERS AND OTHER WARSHIPS AT SEA AND AIRCRAFT CARRIERS AT ANCHOR


Formations and Convoys

1  The attention of shipowners and mariners is called to the danger to all concerned which is caused by single vessels approaching a formation of warships or merchant vessels in convoy, so closely as to involve risk of collision, attempting to pass ahead of, or through such a formation or convoy.

2  Mariners are therefore warned that single vessels should adopt early measures to keep out of the way of a formation or convoy.

3  Although a single vessel is advised to keep out of the way of a formation or convoy, this does not entitle vessels sailing in company to proceed without regard to the movements of the single vessel.

Vessels sailing in a formation or convoy should accordingly keep a careful watch on the movements of any single vessel approaching the formation or convoy and should be ready, in case the single vessel does not keep out of the way, to take such action as will best aid to avert collision.

Aircraft carriers

4  Attention is drawn to the uncertainty of the movements of aircraft carriers, which must usually turn into the wind when aircraft are taking off or landing. While operating aircraft, aircraft carriers will show the lights or shapes as prescribed by Rule 27(b) of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations.  Aircraft carriers may display red or white flight deck lighting during night flying operations.

5  Mariners are warned that by night, aircraft carriers have:

(a) their steaming lights placed permanently off the centre line of the ship and at considerably reduced horizontal separation.

(b) Alternative positions for their side lights:

(i) on either side of the hull,

(ii) on either side of the island structure, in which case the port bow light may be as much as 30.5 m (100 ft.) from the port side of the ship.

6  Certain aircraft carriers exhibit anchor lights as follows:

Four white lights located in the following manner: -

In the forward part of the vessel at a distance of not more than 1.5 m (5 ft.) below the flight deck, two lights in the same horizontal plane, one on the port side and one on the starboard side. In the after part of the vessel at a height of not less than 4.6 m (15 ft.) lower than the forward lights, two lights in the same horizontal plane, one on the port side and one on the starboard side.

Each light is visible over an arc of at least 180°. The forward lights visible over a minimum arc from one point on the opposite bow to one point from right astern on their own side, and the after lights from one point on the opposite quarter to one point from right ahead on their own side.

Ships which operate helicopters

7  Mariners are warned that certain ships of the Maritime Command operate helicopters and cannot manoeuvre freely when helicopters are taking off or landing. Such ships are fitted with hangars and landing platforms, and when operating at night use red or white flood lighting.

8  By night, such ships in addition to the lights prescribed in Rule 27(b) of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations may exhibit the following lights:

(a) Red aircraft warning lights on the foremast, visible 360°. The lights will be on continuously when a helicopter is in the vicinity of the ship.

(b) A cluster of six red, green, or yellow lights, mounted on the after side of the helicopter hangar, visible from red 090° to green 090° through the stern. These lights will be used intermittently as required when helicopters are landing.

(c) Subdued white flight-deck illumination lights. These lights will present a general white glow to other ships.

(d) White, high intensity, flight deck flood lights, fitted on the after side of the hangar, visible from red 090° to green 090° through the stern may be used after the helicopter has landed.

(Red deck lights and flood lights may be used instead of white.)

(e) Lighting associated with Helicopter Operation may be shown in addition to masthead lights, side lights and overtaking light, at the discretion of the officer in tactical command (OTC).

Replenishment-at-Sea

9  Canadian and Allied Warships in conjunction with auxiliaries frequently exercise Replenishment-at-Sea. While doing so the two or more ships taking part are connected by jack-stays and hoses. They display the signals prescribed by Rule 27(b) of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations.

10  Mariners are warned that while carrying out these exercises the ships are restricted both in manoeuvrability and speed. Other vessels are to keep well clear in accordance with Rules 2 and 18 of the above Regulations.

11 Lights and shapes carried by North Atlantic Treaty Organization Mine Countermeasures Vehicles.

Mariners are warned that Canadian, Allied Warships and Helicopters engaged in mine countermeasure activities, cannot manoeuvre freely whilst so engaged. These ships/aircraft may be encountered singly or in formation. Attention is directed to the lights and shapes displayed during these operations:

a. Minehunters

Ships engaged in minehunting will show the lights or shapes prescribed in Rule 27(f) of Schedule I of theCollision Regulations.  Minehunters normally work in conjunction with small boats and inflatable rubber dinghies from which diving or mine disposal operations are conducted. These may be up to 1,000 metres from the minehunter. When showing the lights or shapes prescribed in Rule 27 (f) of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations,  other vessels should not approach closer than 1,000 metres of the minehunter. When a dinghy is being used to operate divers or conduct mine disposal operations, the minehunters in addition to the lights and shapes prescribed above will:

(1) By Day:

Display Flag 'A' or Flag 'B' of the International Code of Signals as appropriate.

(2) By night:

(a) Signal the letter 'U' by flashing light when approached by other vessels.

(b) Make a warning signal in accordance with Rule 36 of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations if approaching vessels do not take avoiding action.

b. Diving Dinghies

(1) When operating divers or conducting mine disposal operations, the dinghy will be required to:

By day:

Display/be prepared to display Flag 'A' or Flag 'B' of the International Code of Signals as appropriate when approached by other vessels.

(2) By night:

(a) Display/be prepared to display an all-round white light in accordance with Rule 23(c) of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations.

(b) Be prepared to show a signal to attract attention in accordance with Rule 36 of Schedule I of theCollision Regulations.

c. Minesweepers

(1) Ships engaged in minesweeping will show the lights or shapes prescribed in Rule 27(f) of Schedule I of the Collision Regulations.  Other vessels should not approach closer than 1,000 metres from the minesweeper.

(2) In addition, the minesweepers may carry the following Station-Keeping Lights:

Two vertical white lights, dimmer controlled, visible from 020° before the beam on either side to right astern. In smaller minesweepers, where the lower light may not be visible through the whole area, it may be necessary to carry two lower lights, one on each side, visible from 020° before the beam to right astern.

d. Helicopters

The helicopter shall be equipped with a quick flashing amber light to indicate that gear is being towed.

Authority: Department of National Defence (NDHQ)

38Précautions à prendre par les navires s'approchant des formations, convois, porte-avions et autres navires de guerre en mer et des porte-avions à l'ancre

Formations et Convois

1L'attention des propriétaires de navires et des navigateurs est attirée sur les dangers qu'il y a pour un navire isolé de s'approcher de navires de guerre navigant en formation ou de navires marchands navigants en convoi. Également, un navire isolé ne doit ni naviguer trop près de tels formations ou convois ni tenter de leur couper la route ou de les traverser.

2Les navigateurs sont avisés que les navires isolés devraient prendre à l'avance les mesures nécessaires pour éviter une formation ou un convoi.

3Le fait qu'un navire soit avisé de se tenir à l'écart de la route d'une formation ou d'un convoi, ne donne pas le droit aux navires naviguant de conserve, de manœuvrer sans se soucier des mouvements du navire naviguant seul. Les navires en formation ou en convoi, doivent en conséquence, surveiller très attentivement les mouvements d'un navire s'approchant de la formation ou du convoi, et être prêts à prendre les mesures nécessaires afin d'éviter l'abordage advenant que ce navire soit dans la route de la formation ou du convoi.

Porte-avions

4Les navigateurs sont priés de porter attention aux mouvements incertains des porte-avions, lesquels doivent habituellement tourner dans le vent pendant les manœuvres de décollage ou d'appontage. Pendant les opérations de vol, les porte-avions montreront les feux et signaux prescrits par la Règle N° 27b) de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages. Les porte-avions peuvent aussi montrer des feux rouges ou blancs sur le pont d'envol pendant les opérations de vol de nuit.

5Les navigateurs sont avertis que pendant la nuit, les porte-avions ont:

a)leurs feux de route placés en permanence hors de l'axe longitudinal du navire, à une distance horizontale considérablement réduite;

b)les autres positions dans lesquelles peuvent être placés leurs feux de côté sont les suivantes:

(i)de chaque côté de la coque,

(ii)sur chaque bord de la structure de l'îlot central; dans ce cas, le feu bâbord peut être placé à 30.5 m (100 pi) ou davantage à l'intérieur du côté bâbord de la coque du navire.

6Certains porte-avions montrent les feux de mouillage comme il suit:

Quatre feux blancs disposés de la manière suivante:

Deux feux dans le même plan horizontal, un à bâbord et l'autre à tribord, placés sur la partie avant du navire, à une distance de pas plus de 1.5 m (5 pi) au-dessous du pont d'envol.

Deux feux dans le même plan horizontal, un à bâbord et l'autre à tribord, placés sur la partie arrière du navire, à une hauteur de pas moins de 4.6 m (15 pi) plus bas que celle des feux avant.

Chaque feu doit être visible dans un arc d'au moins 180°. Les feux avant doivent être visibles dans un arc minimum, s'étendant à partir d'un quart sur le devant opposé jusqu'à un quart depuis l'arrière sur leur propre côté, et les feux arrière, à partir d'un quart sur la hanche opposée jusqu'à un quart depuis l'avant sur leur propre côté.

Navires porteurs d'hélicoptères

7Les navigateurs sont avisés que certains navires du Commandement maritime porteront des hélicoptères et qu'ils ne peuvent manœuvrer librement lorsque ces derniers décollent ou appontent. Ces navires sont dotés de hangars et de plates-formes d'envol, et lorsqu'ils sont en opération pendant la nuit, ils utilisent des phares de grande puissance à feux rouges ou blancs.

8Ces navires peuvent en plus de porter les feux prescrits dans la Règle N° 27b) de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages, montrer pendant la nuit les feux suivants:

a)Des feux rouges d'avertissement aux aéronefs, fixés au mât de misaine. Ces feux seront visibles à 360°, et seront allumés continuellement lorsqu'un hélicoptère sera dans le voisinage du navire.

b)Un groupe de six feux rouges, verts ou jaunes, monté sur le côté arrière du hangar d'hélicoptère et visible d'un côté à l'autre de la poupe, de 090° rouge à 090° vert. Ces feux seront utilisés par intermittence au besoin, lorsque les hélicoptères apponteront.

c)Des feux d'éclairage d'un blanc atténué sur le pont d'envol. Ces feux présenteront une lueur blanche aux autres navires.

d)Sur le pont d'envol, des phares à feux blancs de haute intensité montés sur le côté arrière du hangar, et visibles de 090° rouge à 090° vert d'un côté à l'autre de la poupe. Ces feux peuvent être utilisés après que l'hélicoptère a apponté. (Au lieu des feux blancs, des feux de pont rouges et des projecteurs à feux rouges peuvent aussi être utilisés).

e)L'officier qui exerce le commandement tactique, pourra, s'il le désire, utiliser les feux associés aux manœuvres des hélicoptères en plus des feux de tête de mât, des feux de côté et des feux pour rattraper.

Ravitaillement en mer

9Les navires de guerre canadiens et alliés font fréquemment, de conserve avec des navires auxiliaires, des exercices de ravitaillement en mer. Les navires faisant partie de ces exercices sont habituellement joints par des filières d'envergure, ainsi que par des tuyaux flexibles, et montrent les signaux prescrits par la Règle N° 27b) de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages.

10Les navigateurs sont avertis que les possibilités de manœuvre et de vitesse des navires qui effectuent des exercices étant limitées, les autres navires devront garder la route libre et se conformer aux Règles Nos 2 et 18 du Règlement susmentionné.

11Feux et marques montrés par les véhicules de guerre des mines de l’Organisation du traité de l'Atlantique Nord

Les navigateurs sont prévenus que des navires de guerre et des hélicoptères canadiens et alliés ne peuvent manœuvrer librement lorsqu'ils sont engagés à des activités de guerre des mines. Ces navires ou avions peuvent être rencontrés seuls ou de conserve. On doit porter attention aux feux et aux marques montrés par ceux-ci durant ces opérations.

a.Chasseurs de mines

Les chasseurs de mines en opération montreront les feux et les marques prescrits par la Règle 27 b) de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages. Habituellement, à proximité des chasseurs de mines on trouvera des petites embarcations et des canots pneumatiques à partir desquels opèrent des plongeurs. Ceux-ci peuvent se trouver à une distance allant jusqu'à 1,000 m du chasseur de mines. Lorsque le chasseur de mines montre les feux ou marques prescrits par la règle No 27 (f) de l’annexe I du Règlement sur les abordages, les autres navires ne doivent pas s’en approcher à moins de 1 000 mètres. En plus des feux et des marques prescrits ci-dessus, lorsqu'un canot pneumatique est utilisé pour la plongée ou la destruction de mines, le chasseur de mines devra:

(1)De jour

Hisser le pavillon "A" ou "B" du Code international des signaux, selon le cas.

(2)De nuit

(a)transmettre la lettre "U" en code morse en faisant clignoter une lumière lorsque d'autres navires s'approchent de lui.

(b)émettre un signal d'avertissement conformément à la Règle 36 de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages si les navires qui l'approchent ne prennent pas les mesures pour l'éviter.

b.Canots des plongeurs

Lors des opérations de plongée ou de destructions de mines, le canot doit:

(1)De jour

Montrer ou être paré à montrer le pavillon "A" ou "B" du Code international des signaux, selon le cas, lorsque d'autres navires s'approchent de lui.

(2)De nuit

(a)montrer ou être paré à montrer un feu blanc visible sur tout l'horizon conformément à la Règle 23 c) de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages.

(b)être paré à émettre un signal pour appeler l'attention conformément à la Règle 36 de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages.

c.Dragueurs de mines

(1)Les dragueurs de mines en opération montreront les feux et les marques prescrits par la Règle 27 f) de l'Annexe 1 du Règlement sur les abordages. Les autres navires ne doivent pas s'approcher à moins de 1,000 m du dragueur de mines.

(2)En outre, les dragueurs de mines peuvent montrer les feux de tenue de position suivants:

Deux feux blancs superposés, à intensité variable, visibles à partir de 020° par l'avant du travers, de chaque bord jusqu'à l'arrière. Dans le cas de dragueurs de mines de plus petites dimensions où le feu inférieur pourrait ne pas être visible dans tout le secteur, il peut être nécessaire de porter deux feux inférieurs, un de chaque bord du navire, visibles à partir de 020° par l'avant du travers jusqu'à l'arrière.

d.Hélicoptères

L'hélicoptère devra être muni d'un feu scintillant ambre pour indiquer qu'il est en train de remorquer un engin.

Autorité : Ministère de la Défense nationale (QGDN)