29A EARLY NOTIFICATION OF SEARCH AND RESCUE AUTHORITIES OF DEVELOPING SITUATIONS


In the interest of ensuring the highest level of safety, mariners should immediately notify the Canadian Coast Guard, through any Marine Communications and Traffic Services Centre of any situation which is or may be developing into a more serious situation requiring assistance from the Search and Rescue (SAR) System. The need for the earliest possible alerting of SAR Authorities to potential maritime emergencies cannot be over-emphasised.

This advice is given in accordance with IMO Circular MSC/Circ.892 and similar advice found in the ICAO/IMO International Aeronautical and Maritime SAR (IAMSAR) Manual Volume III. Further, there have been similar recommendations arising from serious SAR cases in the Canadian SAR Region where masters have failed to provide this notice until after the situation deteriorated.

This notification allows SAR authorities to carry out preliminary and contingency planning that could make a critical difference if the situation worsens. Time lost in the initial stages of a SAR mission may be crucial to its eventual outcome.

It is always best to consider the "worst-case scenerio" and to alert SAR authorities accordingly. This notification places no obligations upon the master except to advise the Canadian Coast Guard when the situation has been corrected.

Authority: Canadian Coast Guard

29ANotification rapide des autorités de Recherche et de sauvetage sur les situations à risque

Afin d'assurer le niveau le plus élevé de sécurité, les navigateurs devraient immédiatement informer la Garde côtière canadienne, par l’entremise d'un centre de Services de communications et de trafic maritimes, de toute situation grave ou qui risque de le devenir et qui nécessite l'aide des services de Recherche et de sauvetage (SAR). On n’insistera jamais trop sur le besoin d’aviser le plus tôt possible les autorités de SAR sur les urgences maritimes possibles.

Cet avis est donné conformément à la circulaire de l’OMI MSC/Circ.892 et un avis semblable se trouve dans le volume III du Manuel international de recherche et sauvetage aéronautiques et maritimes (IAMSAR) de l’OACI/l’OMI. De plus, des recommandations semblables ont été formulées à la suite de cas de SAR graves qui sont survenus dans la zone SAR canadienne où des capitaines n'ont pas fourni cet avis avant que la situation ne se détériore.

Cet avis permet aux autorités de SAR d'effectuer de la planification préliminaire et d'urgence qui pourrait faire une différence cruciale si la situation s’empire. Le temps perdu aux étapes initiales d'une mission de SAR peut déterminer son dénouement éventuel.

Il est toujours préférable d’envisager le pire des scénarios et d’aviser les autorités de SAR en conséquence. Cet avis n’impose aucune obligation sur le capitaine, à l’exception d’informer la Garde côtière canadienne lorsque la situation a été redressée.

Autorité : Garde côtière canadienne